British Motocross Championship

Foxhill announced as venue for final round of British Motocross Championship

Tommy Searle Foxhill 2017

Nuno LaranjeiraTommy Searle Foxhill 2017

The final round of the 2018 Maxxis ACU British Motocross Championship supported by Pro Clean will take place at Foxhill Moto Parc it has been announced by the ACU.

The eighth round, to held on September 23, will be run by the Langrish club, which for years organised the famous Ken Hall Trophy.

The ACU say the event will build on 2017’s successful season finale at the iconic Wiltshire circuit. “Foxhill is a fantastic venue and I can’t think of a more fitting track to conclude the 2018 championship,” said Series Director Stuart Drummond. “Last year’s final round was fantastic in terms of both quality of racing and crowd numbers so it makes perfect sense to sign off our season there.

“Finalising the calendar is a massive task which explains why it’s taken until now to announce Foxhill as the venue for the final round but I’m confident we’ve got a great mix of tracks this season and I can’t wait for it all to kick off on March 11 at Lyng.”

Rider entries for the MX1 and MX2 classes are over-subscribed and we should get our first official look at them next week. The ACU says there are still spaces in the MXY2 and British Two-stroke Championship classes.

The MXY2 championship will once again run alongside the British Motocross Championship over five rounds but this season there will be three 16-minute plus one lap races per round.

Following on from its successful debut last year, the British Two-stroke Championship has been extended from a four round series to five for 2018 with two 20-minute plus two lap races per round. To accommodate this there will be two rounds where both the MXY2 and B2S classes will join the main MX1 and MX2 fields – see full 2018 Maxxis calendar below.

2018 Maxxis ACU British Motocross Championship Schedule

Round 1 (Cancelled)March 11LyngMX1, MX2, MXY2
Round 2April 1CulhamMX1, MX2, B2S
Round 3April 22Canada HeightsMX1, MX2, B2S
Round 4May 6BlaxhallMX1, MX2, MXY2, B2S
Round 5June 24DesertmartinMX1, MX2, B2S
Round 6July 29DunsMX1, MX2, MXY2
Round 7August 12Hawkstone ParkMX1, MX2, MXY2, B2S
Round 8September 23FoxhillMX1, MX2, MXY2
Final RoundOctober 14LyngMX1, MX2, MXY2